Grilled Kabobs, Garlic Corn, and Seasoned rice, equals Heaven!

WEB106

This is what my family had for dinner last night. Let me tell you how wonderful it is when your children start singing you praises and worship you, and your husband wants to propose all over again. This is the reception I got at dinner time. Yes it was THAT good! I know there are tons of Kabob recipes out there, but I would like to share with you what I did anyway, since it really did taste awesome. Everything I used was stuff we already had around the house. That it important to me, as I am not the type to go hunt out strange ingredients for a dish. I have three kids and one income, Let’s be reasonable here!

So let’s get started!

I do want to mention that I did all my prep work early in the day so that the meats could marinate for several hours. This is the key to great kabobs!

 

So in the morning or early afternoon at the latest……

WEB008

First you want to soak your skewers ahead of time. This is so they do not burn while cooking. So throw them in a pan of water and forget about them.

 Now pull out some chicken breast, a couple steaks, and a bag of shrimp. If your meat is frozen, defrost that now.

 

WEB009

Now get you an onion or two and chop them up into hunks, set aside

 

WEB024

Grab a few green peppers (and red if you have them, i wish i did, it would have added great color) and chop them up into pieces as big as a quarter or so, set aside

Now your veggie prep work is done! Don’t put them away though, we’ll use them in a min.

 

let’s move on to the meat

 

WEB012

Shrimp is the easiest thing to prep so we will do that first so we can get the marinating started immediately. Start with a bag of  cleaned & peeled RAW shrimp. Don’t use pre-cooked, or they will be rubbery after cooking on the grill. Mine still have the tails on but that part is up to you.

Put the shrimp into a bowl and pour on Italian salad dressing. That’s it! that’s all you have to do! mix it up well, cover, and stick it in your fridge. Shrimp is done! (see isn’t this easy!! that’s the reluctant chef way!)

 

Moving on , let’s tackle the chicken!

 

WEB011

Chop your chicken into chunks. you don’t want them too big, but not too small that you can’t get on the skewer either. we’re looking for bite sized pieces. I’d say about an inch to an inch and a half.  Try to keep them uniform in size so that cooking time will be the same for all of them. Place chicken in a bowl.

 

WEB019

Now season with your favorite seasonings. I used our favorite season salt (sold only at our meat market so the brand name wouldn’t help you) I also used Onion power and a little garlic powder

 

WEB020

Add two tablespoons of honey. I think this step really took the chicken over the edge into Heaven sent. This honey came fresh, strait from my dad’s bee hive. Thank you bee’s! (oh and thank’s Dad ;) My dad loves his bee’s. He has named every one of them, just don’t mention the name bruce to him. Bruse was his favorite bee until my mom stepped on him. He’s very sensitive about bruce. I’m kidding, no bee’s were harmed, but my kids love that joke. My dad even knits them little sweaters in the winter. Not really, that would just be silly, as it doesn’t get cold enough in Florida for sweaters! I know thats not true either, but work with me lol. ok ok, moving on!

 

WEB022

Now add you in a bottle of BBQ sauce. I believe this one was Honey Hickory flavored

 

WEB023

Mix it all up well

WEB026 

Now toss in half of your vegetables. Don’t be afraid of this step! there is nothing wrong with letting your veggies touch your chicken here, because we are cooking it all together, and once the chicken is cooked, the bacteria will be cooked off your veggies too, so your veggies are safe! We want the oils and flavors of the onions and peppers to permeate and marinate through the meat to give it that extra punch!

 

WEB029

Mix it all up again ( I didn’t use many veggies as my kids won’t eat them in chunks like this, so I am doing it more for the flavor, you are welcome to use as many as you want!)

WEB030

Now cover and get in in the fridge!

 

Moving on to the steak

 

WEB031

Chop up your steak much like you did your chicken, into uniform cubes

 

WEB034

Toss into a bowl

 

WEB043

add your favorite seasonings. I’m petty sure I used basically the same as I did for the chicken

 

WEB045

Now I poured in a bottle of Stubb’s steak marinade. I think it’s important to know that you don’t have to marinade all of your meats in the same thing, just because its cooking together. WE want to bring out the individual flavors, so don’t be afraid to mix it up! As you can see I did something different with all three meats, as I wanted to bring out the best of each meat.

 

WEB047

Now add you in a couple shakes of Worshestshire sauce, I also added what was left of my A1 steak sauce. Prob a few Tablespoons. Notice I don’t have exact measurements. That’s ok! You can’t really go wrong here, just go with your gut, you know what you like!

 

WEB049

Mix it up.

WEB050

toss in the rest of your veggies, mix again, cover and refrigerate

 Meat is DONE!

Now let’s prep the corn to make it even easier at cooking time

 

 

WEB068

Get you a small bowl and throw in a couple tablespoons of either butter or margarine. just make sure its soft enough to be spreadable. Add in a few tablespoons of Garlic powder. Trust Me!

 

WEB070

Mix it all up. I stopped adding garlic when I could start to see the seasoning floating in the butter

 

WEB055

Now take you some frozen corn cobs (like I said stuff I had lying around already, and it’s convenient!) And lay them on Two sheets of foil

 

WEB083

Smear on your butter mixture and salt them

 

WEB063

Wrap them up tightly and pinch the ends closed. stick them back into the freezer until your ready to cook!

 

Now, when dinner time rolls around, preheat  your grill. While the grill is going, assemble your kabobs. You’ll want to work fast, or get some help depending on how much meat you prepared, so your coals don’t get too cold (unless your gas grilling then never mind ;)  

WEB080

Assembled chicken skewers (this is only about half of what I made)

WEB073

I assembled all the meat separately in case they cooked at different times. That way the kids could also choose what they wanted to eat without wasted food as well

 

WEB078

You SHOULD, however, cook the shrimp separately anyway, as it cooks VERY fast, and if you leave it on too long it will be a rubbery mess. I cooked these last until they were just pink and opaque

 

 

WEB094

Before you add your meat to the grill , carefully oil the grate with some olive oil to prevent sticking. I cooked the meat in two batches as I made a ton of food. you want to cook the kabobs on a low heat. Ideally the corn should be cooked at a high heat, so you can throw them on the grill while your assembling your kabobs, they only take about 10-15 min on high heat, but what I ended up doing was throwing them on the grill at the low heat with the kabobs and just leaving them on the whole time that the meat batches were cooking. It worked out nicely for me.

 

WEB099

Don’t mind my rusty seasoned work horse of a smoker, It’s clean I promise

 

WEB104

When all is done it will look like this! Oh man I can still taste it! The garlic corn was amazing. The aroma alone when you open the packet was incredible. The taste is knee buckling.

Somewhere in the middle of Grilling I whipped up a batch of seasoned rice to lay under the meat. I didn’t have a chance to snap any pictures as I was elbow deep in cooking everything else, but here’s what I did.

SEASONED RICE

Boil 4 cups of water in a pot. Add in 4 cubes of chicken bouillon, 1 tbsp season salt, 1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning (measurments are close guesses) when water is boiling remove from heat and add in 4 cups of instant rice. Cover and let set at least 10 min or until the rest of your food is cooked. EASY! and it was light, refreshing, and really good! the entire family loved it, it was a perfect compliment to the meat.

 

WEB108

I hope you try this and ENJOY!

 

 

.

4 Responses to “Grilled Kabobs, Garlic Corn, and Seasoned rice, equals Heaven!”

  1. Bob Says:

    Looks great! Man I miss having a grill. I used to do steak tips with Italian dressing all the time. :)

  2. Anne Says:

    Those kebabs and corn look so good–I’ll try them this week!
    Anne

  3. lisamichele Says:

    Oh my goodness, those kebabs look simply mouth watering. Plus, your photos are phenomenal! Your have a lovely blog :)

  4. lisamichele Says:

    I meant YOU have a lovely blog, These comment sections should give us an edit option!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

