Why clean when you can bake?: otherwise known as Procrastinating, chocolate cake

So I was supposed to clean my room today.  Before I started, I wanted to have a little fun. I decided I was gonna whip up a batch of icing and just practice making decorations. Then I remembered that I have to go into Dallas tomorrow, and was planning on stopping by the hub’s office and having lunch with him. Well, I can’t very well show up at the office without some kind of treat. Other than being the Hubs’ wife, I’m known as the lady who sends in all the goodies. So I didn’t want to show up empty handed and disappoint. I decided to pull out my mini heart pan and make some cute little heart cupcakes. While I was filling the pan with batter I realized that I was going to end up with a hundred cupcakes at this rate. So I then decided to throw most of the batter into a large heart cake pan. So I bake everything up and think about what I’m going to do with it all. I whipped up a batch of chocolate butter cream icing and slathered it all over the cakes. While thinking about what I wanted to do with them, I remember what got me started in the whole process to begin with. So I whipped up another batch of butter cream icing, pulled out my decorating supplies, and went to town. I ended up with a way more elaborate cake than I had planned, especially for no specific occasion, but I had fun, learned a lot, and the office gets a nice treat ! 🙂  Here are pics of what I made today……….

 

13web15web

 24web25web

 

One of the very best things to me about baking, is that I can share it with my daughter. We get to spend time together and I get to teach her things. What better mother daughter moments than cooking together? I gave her the piece of cake that I had shaved off, and she got to practice her decorating techniques on her own piece of cake. Which she of course got to eat when she was through. She did great!

 

30web_filtered34web_filtered 

 38_filtered51web

Ya like her crazy grin?? She’s missing three teeth in a row, and a fourth is loose. If they don’t start growing in quick she won’t be able to eat anything but soup! which is bad because she hates soup!

Now I must go and supervise my daughter cleaning her room, as she tends to get distracted if left to her own devices. Hmmmm wonder where she got that trait??? what was I supposed to do today?? oooooooh yea……… 🙂

One Response to “Why clean when you can bake?: otherwise known as Procrastinating, chocolate cake”

  1. Stacy Says:

    Me thinks this is your talent. The cakes are beautiful!


Leave a Reply

